It is important to teach kids the importance of thankfulness and grandmothers. The attitude of being grateful for what you have been given is sorely lacking in our modern world, and will only be remedied if the coming generation learns it early. And the disrespect and mistreatment of the older generation has reached a fever pitch. The grace and blessings that grandparents, especially grandmothers, offer is something that should never be neglected. And, to do that is to teach children early on how valuable grandmothers are.

So, why not do both, in a large size, brightly illustrated book? Thank You, God, for Grandma is a fun filled, teaching opportunity for you to read to your little ones, or have them read to you. From award-winning author Amy Parker, and illustrated by Rosalinda Kightley comes a heartfelt children’s book that will help your kids learn an attitude of thanksgiving and a deep appreciation for grandmothers.

Hitting all the hallmarks of a great grandmother, like spoiling the grandkids, telling stories, and baking cookies, this Tommy Nelson published book is a perfect addition to your children’s growing library. Full of cute moments that reflect the kind of relationship every parent wants for their children and grandparents, Thank You, God, for Grandma is sure to be a favourite for your kids.

It’s not a perfect gauge, but I tend to judge how good a kids book is based on how quickly my 2 year old daughter steals it from me, and how long she looks at it. She grabbed it instantly. She enjoyed looking at the “teddys” and seeing them do things that she was doing on a regular basis. This is a book for kids.

It was also nice to see ‘grandmothers’ referred to by other names. I realize not everyone calls their grandmother, grandmother. But for my daughter, who is two, saying ‘nana’ and hearing me read that out loud gave her extra enjoyment from this book.

The only thing I was disappointed with was the infrequent mention of God in this book. Thank You, God, for Grandma is written as a prayer of thanksgiving, so God is mentioned a couple of times. I just felt that He could have been mentioned more. Now that could be because of my education, or being a former pastor, or my desire for my children to know who we worship and serve. I am not saying that this book is bad. I’m not saying that this book isn’t Christian or God honouring. It is. I am only saying that my personal preference would be for God to ‘appear’ more often.

This is a wonderfully colour and fun way to introduce kids to being thankful, especially for the grandmothers in their lives. Mary Parker’s simple words matched with Rosalinda Kightley’s art makes Thank You, God, for Grandma a book every growing child should have.

I give Thank You, God, for Grandma a 4 out of 5 star rating.



Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

