Alberta is falling apart.
That’s the nicest way that I can say it. To be blunt, this province is slowly watching itself be flushed down the toilet.

The oil industry, the backbone of this entire province, is failing. It is being out produced by Iran and the US. And with a plummeting dollar, all those that once counted on the black gold to pay their bills are now stuck in a very bad situation.

There is no more money.
There is almost no future in oil, in the province of Alberta.

That may not mean anything to you. You might not live in this province. You might not live in the country of Canada. But I am, and this downward spiraling economy really got to me last night.

I am not directly affected by the down turning market and low product of oil, but I am starting to feel the pinch. And it is only a matter of time before I’m feeling the same squeeze as the over 100,000 people who have lost their jobs because of poor oil prices are feeling.

If that wasn’t bad enough, and it is hard to imagine that it could be, the news reported that Canada is expected to have a multi-billion dollar deficit this next year. And in Canada, we all feel a deficit. We, the average Canadian citizen, are the ones that pay back that giant wad of cash that our federal government has spent.

When all that washed over me, the realization that times were tough and only going to get tougher, a part of me broke down. I wasn’t crying on the outside, but my heart was weeping.

I was weeping because I know I’m not the only that is facing this hardship. There are hundreds of thousands of other Albertan families that are hurting too. And there are so many that are worse off than I am.

My spirit wept for most of that night. My mind raced back and forth, trying to figure out what I could do to help my family in this time of crisis. For hours, my mind raced, my spirit wept, and I came up with nothing. Not one idea, not one thing I could do. Feeling exhausted inside, I sat on my bed alone, and I let my heart pray.

It might be more accurate to say that my spirit prayed, but I feel that it was so much more earth and gut-wrenching than that.

And I want to share it with you now.

You might find yourself in the same place as I do. You might be facing financially difficult times. Jobs could be difficult to come by. The future may seem bleak. You may have tried everything you can, only to find yourself coming up short. May you find comfort and encouragement in this prayer.

God, I am lost.
I don’t know what we are going to do.
There is nowhere to go. There is nothing more that I can do. I am at my wit’s end and spent in every way.
What am I supposed to do?

You call me to faith. You call me to trust.
It’s not easy. It’s really, really hard. To let go of my control, my ability to make things all work out, to surrender is so tough.

I don’t know that I have the strength to give you all my troubles. I don’t know if I have it in me to give you my problems.

They are so big and overwhelming. They are consuming and devastating. What am I supposed to do?

[Pause]

I know you are good. I know you are good, even if my circumstances do not change. You are a good God.

I know you are mighty. That you are not weakened by my problems. You are all-powerful, God.

I know that all these things, all the bad, all the good, you will use for your glory and honour.

Lord, give me the strength to take my worries and lay them at your feet.
Lord, give me the courage to take my anxiety and put it on your shoulders.
Lord, give me the faith, the trust to know that you will do what you have said, and leave it in your hands.
Lord, give me the confidence that you have no abandon me, even if things look bleak, and rest in your arms.
Lord, give me the peace of your Spirit, that all this chaos is not out of your control, and be still in your presence.
Lord, give me the power to be obedient to you, no matter what the world may look like, and look to Jesus.

I pray all these things, in the mighty and powerful name of Jesus,
Amen.

Leave a Reply

