_240_360_Book.1827.cover

Erica Sparks has been handpicked to join the fastest growing news network in the world. It’s a big deal for a small town girl, with a disgraceful past. Her dreams of bringing truth and justice to the world are finally being realized. It’s almost a dream come true.

That dream comes true when a terrible ferry accident occurs and Eria just happened to be there to report on it. The event launches her in stardom. Suddenly she is being offered raises and her own talk show. Her dream is now a reality.

But when she is present for a nationwide catastrophe, the red flags starting going up. What are the odds that she would be there for both these events? Was it coincident, or was someone making the news happen?

From the mind of the legal analyst and commentator for the FOX News Channel, Lis Wiehl spins a tale about the dark side of the newsroom. The Newsmakers follows Erica Sparks as she dives deep into murky waters that are giving her the chance of a lifetime, and could end up taking her life. What, or who could be behind all her good fortune and the dastardly deeds that are costing more and more people their lives?

“God grant me the serenity to accept the things I can’t change…and the courage to change the things I can.”

That’s how Lis Wiehl starts this story, and it is an apt description of what goes on in the pages of The Newsmakers. Erica is constantly faced with situation after situation that demands she find a place of peace and courage to move on. The road ahead is not easy.

While I typically stay away from Christian novels, I found that this one drew me in quickly. I normally find Christian fiction to be either a sappy love triangle with a weak story and sermons about Jesus or they are a tale of a character walking through the sermons and their lives become the illustrations for a life lesson. I’m not saying that those stories shouldn’t exist. I’m saying that they aren’t for me, and The Newsmakers is nothing like either of those.

Lis Wiehl has crafted a compelling thriller about a world most of us will never see, but somehow feel completely connected to. This book is well paced, detailed enough to give a wonderful picture of the world that the characters inhabit, but leaving room for the reader’s imagination, and ground in a world that mirrors our own. I was swept away from the start and was sad to see the last page turn. To say that I was immersed in The Newsmakers would be a most accurate description of what happened in reading this book.

Who would have thought that a novel about a small town journalist, turned big shot newscast could be an engaging and thrilling story? Lis Wiehl’s The Newsmakers easily earns the 5 out of 5-star rating that I am giving it.


I review for BookLook Bloggers

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

