Merry Christmas

No matter how many times I try to write something meaningful and heartfelt for this Christmas message, I keep getting stumped.

I am fumbling over words. I’m running down strange tangents that have nothing to do with the season. I am frustrating myself because I can’t get my thoughts out on the screen. So this may seem unpolished, but this is what I want for you, my readers.

Peace.

Not a peace of this world. Not a peace that is gained by warfare, or the appearance of might in weaponry. Not a peace that is created by people not sharing their thoughts and feelings in awkward silence. Not a peace that is left by family and friends deserting you.

I want you to know real peace. A divine, transcendent peace.

The Angels told the shepherds that God would give “on earth peace to men on whom His favour rests.” A peace that is handed down from God to you; that is what I want for you this season. Something amazing. Something miraculous.

Peace.

The Prophet Isaiah spoke of this peace that would come, a peace that was not found in the circumstances of the day, a peace not found in gifts or presents, a peace not achieved by anything that man or woman could do.

“For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.”

We know this child that was born, this son that was given to be Jesus Christ. He is the Prince of Peace that Isaiah spoke of. Jesus is the one that can give the peace that is divine and miraculous. Jesus is the one that offers us peace that is so far beyond what we can know or understand. Only Jesus can offer that. Only in Jesus can that kind of peace be found.

I want you to have this peace. I want you to find the peace that this season celebrates in Jesus. The season brings all kinds of circumstances, situations, difficulties, for everyone. All across the world, people are dealing with different things during this Christmas season. But only in Jesus will you find a peace that surpassing understanding, a peace that washes over the depths of your heart and changes you.

I want that for you this season. Better yet, I want that for you all the time, but especially now. As we celebrate the Christmas season, may you find and make time to enjoy and embrace the Prince of Peace. May you enjoy the very real presence of Him that offers Himself as a gift of peace. May you be blessed and changed by the marvellous power of peace.

God bless you. Have a safe and wonderful Christmas.

Peace be with you.

Leave a Reply

