2014 has ended, and 2015 has begun.

What strange and wonderful things does our God have in store for us?

That was one of the first questions that filled my head when I actually realized that 2014 was coming to a close. What does God have in store for me this year?

And from that original question, more strutted in my mind.

What things are there that God wants me to do? What does God want me to experience? What blessings does He want to shower down on me? What challenges and valleys am I going to have to go through to achieve the will of God?

These are questions I’m sure a lot of us ask, and not necessarily just at New Years either. I think that these are very normal questions for Christians to ask wherever they are in their faith. The brand new Christian may look at the promises God made to Israel and wonder, “When do these things start happening for me?” The seasoned believer may feel like they have hit a spiritual dead end and be pondering, “What could God possibly have for me now?

In all these questions that we may have, in all the circumstances and situations we find ourselves in, there is a tension. A tension that desires an answer, a long and silent pause before the response.

For most of us, the tension or the long pause is nerve wracking. We don’t like it. It isn’t a pleasant place to be. We want immediate answers, we want instant responses to our questions.

Some times we get those quick answers. What will God do with me in 2015? You might find out on January 1st. Or the 2nd.

But for those of us that have to wait, for those of us that do not get an immediate response, that have to wait in the tension, remember what God says. Even in the long and silent pause before the response, God says this about 2015.

For [God] Himself has said,

“I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

Hebrews 13.5 NKJV

Do I know what the answers to all our questions are? No. I have no idea what God is going to do in 2015. I haven’t got the foggiest clue as to what He is going to throw my way or what I am going to have to deal with in the coming year.

Sometimes that idea is terrifying. That awkward tension, the waiting for God to answer can drive a person insane with worry.

I’m not saying that God will not answer your questions and prayers. What I am saying is this; it is important to remember that regardless of what lies before us, God is there with us.

 

That was the joy of Christmas, Immanuel, that God was now here with us. And now, heading into the new year of 2015, it is our hope. It is our anchor through the questions and tension.

Regardless of what lies before us, God is there with us.

Tweet this!

Tweet: Regardless of what lies before us, God is there with us.

I hope that you remember this as we journey together into this New Year.

Shalom.

Leave a Reply

