“‘Do you remember the hospital, Colton?’ Sonja asked. ‘Yes, Mommy, I remember,’ he said. ‘That’s where the angels sang to me…I asked them to sing “We Will, We Will Rock You” but they wouldn’t sing that.’

heaven

We all want to know what happens after we die. What is there or is there anything beyond this life? What is heaven like? Is it even a real thing? Unfortunately we don’t have a full picture of what happens when we enter that last sleep. We have bits and pieces that Jesus talked about or were revealed to His disciples after Jesus ascended, but never a full, complete picture. But when 4 year old Colton Burpo went to heaven…the pieces became a little bit fuller.

Months after an emergency appendectomy, the Burpo’s started to realize something strange had happened to their son. His unique and straight forward comments about angels singing during his surgery, how Jesus looks and talking about family members he had never met made them all realize something amazing had happened to Colton. Colton’s father, Todd Burpo, tells the story of his son’s extraordinary journey to heaven, what he saw and how it changed and challenged their family’s understanding of heaven. Heaven Is For Real will have you reexamining your beliefs of heaven, eternity and other long asked questions.

“Well, Jesus told me he died on the cross so we could go see his Dad.”

Call me a skeptic, but I don’t buy a lot of “heavenly visitation” or “visits to hell” books. I am never sure what to make of them. When I picked up Heaven Is For Real off my mother in law’s book shelf, I wasn’t sure what I would be in for. To my surprise and delight, this book was not like those other supernatural visitation books. Colton’s journey is a heart warming and a spiritually uplifting tale that challenged his parent’s understanding of heaven, and then the readers. With every revelation Colton brings about heaven, there is Scripture backing it up. For every surprising detail, there is a biblical reason to go with it. While not a theological text describing heaven, Heaven Is For Real taps into the heart of every believer and excites their imagination and hope of what Heaven has in store. Reading this book gives every believer the opportunity to rediscover the belief in God and heaven like that of a little child.

“‘Colton, what do you want people to know from your story?’ Without hesitation, he looked her in the eye and said, ‘I want them to know that heaven is for real.'”

I don’t own this book, but I want to. And I think every Christian should. I want this book to be ON MY SHELF.

3 thoughts on “OFF MY SHELF: Heaven Is For Real

Leave a Reply

