photo 1
Whenever I read from my old King James Version bible, and I come across the word “alien”, the 7 year old me smiles.
He is smiling because he is thinking about Martians and UFOs and traveling to the far reaches of the galaxy.
He is smiling because he is humming the original Star Trek theme song in his head.
He is smiling because a very real part of him knows that he isn’t from this planet either.
The idea that this planet isn’t our home is not new for the science fiction community. It’s been done over and over.
But this idea also isn’t’ new to the Christian community.
The notion that this place, this planet is not our home goes all the way back to ancient days.
For this world is not our home; we are looking forward to our city in heaven, which is yet to come (Hebrews 13:14 NLT).
We were designed and built for another place.
But we live here.
At least for now.
Over the last week or so, I have had this struggle inside about how to live on Earth when my heart is longing to be some where else.
How do you live in the world, but keep your focus on eternal things?
I’ve sat at my computer many a time contemplating this notion of being trapped between two world.
Specifically, I’ve looked at my YouTube subscriptions and my Twitter.
If I am going to live on this planet of mud and water, if I am going to be a part of this world, I need to be involved in it.
I should know what is going on.
News, politics, the everyday goings on should be things that I am aware of and interested in.
I should do what I can, read the newspaper, watch the latest trending videos and follow the hottest celebrities on Twitter.
I need to be filling my being with all that is going on in this world.
And sometimes I’m okay with that.
YouTube is great.
Twitter is a lot of fun, if you are following the right people.
And depending on the paper you read, it can be very interesting rather than dry and boring.
But it doesn’t satisfy the longing, the turning of my spirit that I am feeling.
My spirit wants things that are better than what the world news is offering.
My soul is looking for something more stimulating than a 140 character joke from Hollywood’s best.
My heart desires something real and tangible, not computer generated pixels.
And I am left with the idea that I need to purge my life of all those things that do not satisfy.
No more YouTube, no more Twitter, no more depressing newspapers, but rather an alternative.
More sermons, more spiritual books to give life to my dry bones, more time drinking the milk and eating the meat of the Scriptures rather than the garbage of the Earth.
And to that idea, my spirit take joy and is happy for a moment.
Then the struggle starts again.
As much as I want something other-earthly, I do want earthly things.
I want to have heaven and earth at the same time.
And that is in my make up, a spiritual being locked in a physical body.
So, I sit and struggle between these ideas.
Do I abandon the world and flee to the heavens?
Do I keep my focus on the Earth, and let heaven pass me by?
What I’m looking for is your answer.
How do you deal with the struggle to live in Earth but strive for Heaven?
What do you do or not do?
And are these my only two options?
Is there a third option?
It was Billy Graham that said that an effective preacher needs to have a Bible in one hand, and a newspaper in the other.
One hand on the Earth, the other on Heaven as it were.
Is there a chance that this struggle I feel is a completely natural thing?
Is this something that I should feel?
Because until we are no longer living on the Earth, there is no escaping it.
We are here.
But we are not to refrain from looking else where.
We should not dull our spirit’s longing.
Maybe we are supposed to live in that tension of being an alien stuck on an alien planet.
Maybe I simply need to find a balance between the physical and spiritual, and be okay with that.
But again, I’m not sure.

What do you think?
Is this third option actually possible?
If so, what does it look like?
Or if you have a fourth of fifth option, how do you deal with the struggle to live in Earth but strive for Heaven?
Be sure to like this post, subscribe to Christian Thought Sandbox for more awesome content.
Also share the blog and follow me on Twitter, @regrivett .
Shalom.
One thought on “I Am Caught Between Two Worlds!

Leave a Reply

