I decided that I needed to start writing more.

So I decided that I would get some help. It didn’t take long and I didn’t have to look far to find it. What I was looking for was there on the front page of WordPress, a 365 day writing prompting program, wonderfully provided by the staff of WordPress.

I thought I would give it a try. And here is the first question that they asked me to respond to.

Where were you last night, when 2013 turned into 2014?

Where was I on New Year’s Eve 2013? Was it where I wanted to be?

I didn’t have so much a problem with the physical location.

I got to go to a WHL (Western Hockey Leeague) game. My wife, a couple from the church and myself enjoyed a great game. Icing on the cake, our team won. And for a cherry on top, there were fireworks in the arena afterwards. It was quite the evening.

After that, we went back to the church couples’ home, watched a movie and then channel surfed through the various New Year’s Eve specials. At the stroke of midnight, we cheered, enjoyed some sparkling grapefruit juice and a kiss from our respective spouse.

It was fun, I enjoyed myself that night. So I did like where I was at the end of 2013 and the beginning of 2014.

But as I often do, I take the question and go a little deeper.

On the physical plane, where my body was, I was fine with. Where I was on a mental and spiritual plane is a different story.

Where was I mentally, where was I spiritually at the end of 2013, and was it where I wanted to be?

I don’t know when I started to think this way, but at some point I decided that knowledge, understanding, information, call it what you will, was very important. Not just to me, but to the world at large. Knowledge is power. Understanding propels you forward. Wisdom shows you the way to use that power as you go forward.

As I think about the end of 2013 and the start of 2014, I am not okay with where I was mentally.

I still want to know more, I still want to understand grander and nobler concepts. Not because I have an inferiority complex and hide behind my “big brain”, but because there is a thirst for wisdom and understanding.

The Apostle Paul said this to the church in Colossae,

“Let the Word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God (Colossians 3:16 ESV).”

King Solomon, thousands of years before Paul, spoke of the benefit of seeking wisdom.

“For wisdom is better than jewels, and all that you may desire cannot compare with her. ‘I, wisdom, dwell with prudence, and I find knowledge and discretion.’ (Proverbs 8:11-12).”

While I may not be happy with where I was on the Eve of 2014, I know that it is not the end of my search. It isn’t the end of my search because I haven’t given up on looking for knowledge and wisdom, but there is more than just that. It isn’t the end because I know that one day I will receive what I ask for.

“If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him (James 1:5).”

As for where I was at the end of 2013 spiritually, it could be said that I wasn’t happy with that as well.

I felt like I should be farther along in my relationship with Jesus. I shouldn’t be tripping over the same old sins and relearning the same lessons over and over again. And I know that I am not the only Christian that feels this way, and not just at the end and beginning of the year.

Most of us feel this way a dozen times throughout the average year. Especially right after we have done something that we don’t want to do; we’ve sinned again.

There is no way that anyone can promise that they will finally defeat that sin this year. They won’t be struggling with that anymore. There is definitely the chance that they may break that bond within this collection of days.

But that doesn’t always happen. And it can be extremely discouraging.

There is, however, a light at the end of the tunnel.

While we may stumble and fall, there is grace for us.

Not new every year, not every fill of the calender year, but every morning.

“Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness (Lamentations 3:22-23 NIV).”

While I may struggle and suffer because of my sin, old or new, I know that God is and will always be gracious to me.

The catch is not to beat yourself down for falling, but when you do know that God will lift you up.

It is a hard thing to remember, especially when most Christians make a habit of flogging themselves for sinning.

While I may not be happy with where I ended 2013 on the spiritual plane, I know that it is an ongoing journey. And on that journey I will fall, but God will pick me up.

Looking forward to 2014, I hope that I look to the truth of this portion of Scripture more and more.

“But LORD, be merciful to us, for we have waited for you. Be our strong arm each day and our salvation in times of trouble (Isaiah 33:2).”

What about you?

Were you happy with where you were  on the last day of 2013? Why or Why not?

Let me know in the comment section.

After you are done that, like and favorite this post.

Share it with your friends on Twitter, Facebook and Google+.

And be sure to follow me on Twitter, @regrivett , and on WordPress, so that you don’t miss out.

Shalom.

Leave a Reply

