In my pain and in my grief,
I called on the name of the LORD.
Not in hope, not in gladness,
But in anger and discomfort.

In my pain and in my grief,
I cried out to the LORD.
Why do You let things like this happen,
To me, to all of us?

In my pain and in my grief,
I wept bitter tears before the LORD.
My friend was going to be taken away,
And there was nothing I could do.
In my pain and in my grief,
I said to the LORD,
You are cruel, You are mean,
That you would hurt your children so.

In my pain and in my grief,
I despised my LORD.
For He was not healing me,
He was not answering my prayer.

In my pain and in my grief,
I refused to hear the LORD,
And the words that He would say,
For I ached inside my heart.

In my pain and in my grief,
I thought about the LORD
And His blessing of a friend,
The kind of friend that is the best.

In my pain and in my grief
I rejected my LORD,
Only to recognize my selfishness,
My own need to be fulfilled.

In my pain and in my grief,
I was alone, with my LORD,
And I learned that my pride must suffer,
That He may be glorified.

In my pain and in my grief,
I heard my LORD,
And His desire for good things,
For me, for my friend.

In my pain and in my grief,
I saw the LORD,
Opening new doors and windows
To pour blessing on my companion.

In my pain and in my grief,
I knew the LORD
Was moving and changing things,
Things too large and wonderful for me.

In my pain and in my grief,
I foreknew the LORD,
He was working astonishing things
Into the future of my comrade.

In my pain and in my grief,
I knew that the LORD
Was not asking me not to feel,
But to let go.

In my pain and in my grief,
I obeyed the LORD,
Gave my friend to the wonders unbound
That God has prepared.

In my pain and in my grief,
I learned from the LORD,
While I cry and hurt,
He is healing and performing miracles.

In my pain and in my grief,
I beseeched the LORD,
Bless my friend as he follows,
Though I hurt to see him leave.

In my pain and in my grief,
I let the LORD
Be LORD in my life,
And that of my friend.

If you enjoyed this poem, be sure to share it.

Like and subscribe so that you don’t miss any of the great stuff here.

Shalom.

Leave a Reply

